EFORT Head Office ZA La Pièce 2 1180 Rolle, Switzerland Tel +41 21 343 44 00 Fax +41 21 343 44 11 office@efort.org

www.efort.org



Message of support for Ukraine

It is with great sadness and deep concern that the European Federation of National Associations of Orthopaedics and Traumatology (**EFORT**), learns of the rapidly unfolding situation and humanitarian crisis in Ukraine.

While we remain an apolitical federation of the national societies of orthopaedics and traumatology in Europe, with a role to promote science, education and research in diseases and injuries concerning the musculoskeletal system, we abhor the use of violence or war and see no place for either in settling disputes of any kind.

EFORT condemns the military aggression against Ukraine. We express our strong support to our colleagues and the millions of citizens in Ukraine caught in this crisis, as well as those in the neighbouring countries, such as Poland, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia, who are mitigating the immediate humanitarian crisis. We call for all agencies and organisations providing humanitarian aid in the region to receive the support and resources they need to respond to the crisis. We feel strongly that they should in no way be obstructed in their efforts.

EFORT would like to express its full support to our member society, the Ukrainian Association of Orthopaedic Surgery & Traumatology. Our thoughts are with them as they struggle to deal with the incomprehensible harm being inflicted on innocent European citizens. We encourage anyone interested in offering personal support to do so through their hospitals, national and specialty professional associations and through neutral charitable organisations

Our thoughts are with all colleagues and citizens in Ukraine suffering at this moment.

Rolle, 3 March 2022

PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Li Felländer-Tsai li.fellander-tsai@efort.org

TREASURER Prof. Dr. Theofilos Karachalios theofilos.karachalios@efort.org FIRST VICE PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Enrique Gómez Barrena enrique.gomezbarrena@efort.org

MEMBER Dr. Katre Maasalu katre.maasalu@efort.org SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Mr. David Limb david.limb@efort.org

MEMBER Prof. Dr. Stefan Nehrer stefan.nehrer@efort.org SECRETARY GENERAL Prof. Dr. Rob Nelissen rob.nelissen@efort.org

MEMBER Prof. Dr. Pietro Ruggieri pietro.ruggieri@efort.org PAST PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Klaus-Peter Günther klaus-peter.guenther@efort.org

YOUNG MEMBER Dr. Filipe Lima Santos filipe.lima.santos@efort.org