EFORT A-One Business Center Z.A. La Pièce 1 - A5 1180 Rolle, Switzerland

Tel +41 21 443 44 00 office@efort.org

www.efort.org



To: Presidents and National Delegates of the EFORT National Member Societies Presidents of EFORT Associated Scientific Societies Presidents of societies representing subspecialties of trauma and orthopaedic surgery

Cc: Offices National Member Societies **EFORT Executive Committee**

Rolle, 11 March 2025

Official invitation to the EFORT General Assembly in Lyon, 11 June 2025

Dear Presidents, dear National Delegates, dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the EFORT Leadership, we formally invite you to attend this year's EFORT General Assembly, which will take place in:

Lyon, France on Wednesday 11 June 2025 from 16:15 to 17:45 CET.

Please note that the date follows a new scheduling approach, as we have decided for the first time to include the General Assembly in slots normally reserved for the scientific program. Beyond the benefit of reducing infrastructure costs, this also means that you can plan your arrival for either Tuesday night or Wednesday morning, depending on your participation schedule in the scientific program.

This also means that no prior strategy meeting will be held this year.

This communication contains important information on the topics listed below. We encourage you to read this letter in its entirety.

- Registration
- > Elections
- Preliminary voting options
- Supporting Documents

EFORT

A-One Business Center Z.A. La Pièce 1 - A5 1180 Rolle, Switzerland

Tel +41 21 443 44 00 office@efort.org

www.efort.org



a) Registration:

As many of you know, EFORT has undergone significant structural and business changes. In response to the implementation of a newly redefined approach to organising the EFORT Annual Congress—and, more broadly, its financial management—the Board has had to make difficult decisions.

As of this year, Presidents and National Delegates of EFORT National Member Societies, as well as Presidents of EFORT Associated Scientific Societies, are required to register on a paid basis.

To facilitate this transition, the early fee rate will be granted, provided that registration is completed within the regular fee period, which remains valid until 23 April 2025. Please note that this offer will no longer apply once the onsite fee period begins.



To register and participate* to the General Assembly please click on this link

Please select the Registration category "Physician practising in a European country of one of the national societies member of EFORT" and enter the registration code: EfOrT25MeMbAG

*Only registered participants, from societies in good standing, with all dues paid, will be eligible to participate and granted access to the General Assembly.

b) Elections: (slate of nominees)

As in previous years, during the General Assembly, the National Delegates will elect new members to the EFORT Board. Additionally, this year, two members of the Finance Committee will also be elected. Following the call for nominations and the evaluation process conducted by the EFORT Nominating Committee, we are pleased to present the following slate of nominees for (re-)election during the upcoming EFORT General Assembly:

2nd Vice President:

Nominated and seconded candidate: Mr. Don McBride, United Kingdom, (Fellow of the BOA

with significant experience in governance & leadership functions within national/European associations

including the BOA, BOFAS, EFAS and EFORT)

open to election and to vote

Secretary General:

Nominated and seconded candidate: Prof. Dr. Jose Cordero Ampuero, Spain (former EFORT

National delegate, EBOT examiner, current Member of

Prof. Dr. Gilles Pasquier

gilles.pasquier@efort.org

Dr. René Mihalič

Prof. Dr. Dieter Wirtz

dieter.wirtz@efort.org

christina.frohlich-frandsen@efort.org

EFORT

A-One Business Center Z.A. La Pièce 1 - A5 1180 Rolle, Switzerland

Tel +41 21 443 44 00 office@efort.org

www.efort.org



the EFORT Education Committee and chair of the OEG

Group)

open to election and to vote

Member at Large III:

Nominated and seconded candidate: Prof. Dr. Dieter Wirtz, Germany (current Member at

Large)

open to re-election and to vote

Young Member at Large:

Nominated and seconded candidate: Prof. Marko Ostojic, Croatia (former FOrTE President)

open to election and to vote

All candidates are eligible candidates according to Art. 42 – 51 of the EFORT statutes.

Finance Committee Member I:

Nominated and seconded candidate: Dr. Anant Narayan Mahapatra, Ireland (current EFORT

National Delegate)

open to election and to vote

Finance Committee Member II:

Nominated and seconded candidate: Ass. Prof. Dr. Nikola Bulatovic, Montenegro (current

EFORT National Delegate) open to election and to vote

All candidates are eligible candidates. The members of the Finance Committee are appointed by the GA for three years. They may be re-elected once. (Guidelines for the EFORT Finance Committee - revised version, May 2023)

N.B.: Only the Delegates of our National Member Societies have voting rights within the EFORT General Assembly. Presidents of EFORT National Member Societies or any other societies as well as guests are not entitled to vote on topics during the General Assembly unless they are also the EFORT Delegate of their National Society being an EFORT National Member Society.

c) Preliminary voting:

As mentioned above, the participation conditions for the General Assembly have changed. If you are unable to attend this year but wish to exercise your voting rights on behalf of your society, EFORT offers a preliminary voting option. To request this, please email membership@efort.org for further instructions.

EFORT A-One Business Center Z.A. La Pièce 1 - A5 1180 Rolle, Switzerland

Tel +41 21 443 44 00 office@efort.org

www.efort.org



Virtual participation (via online platform or video conference) in this General Assembly will not be enabled.

d) Supporting documents:

To ensure streamlined communication and avoid email congestion, all relevant supporting materials for the General Assembly are available for download at https://www.efort.org/g3n3ral-a553mbly/

A draft agenda for the General Assembly has already been posted for your reference.

If you have any questions or need further details, please do not hesitate to get in touch with the EFORT Team at membership@efort.org

We thank you for your continued support and look forward to welcoming you to Lyon this June.

Best regards,

Prof. Dr. Theofilos Karachalios EFORT President 2024/2025

Prof. Dr Rob Nelissen EFORT second Vice-President & Acting Secretary General

Dr. Christina Frølich Frandsen

christina.frohlich-frandsen@efort.org