Award Winners 2008

On the occasion of the 9th EFORT Congress 2008 in Nice, EFORT awarded the 10 best free papers from the congress’s free paper sessions. These are the 10 winners:

Award Winner Title
Manuel Ribas
MIS-Treatment of Femoroacetabular Impingement. Analysis of the Results after 3 Years in 107 Consecutive Cases.
Christophe Mathoulin (France)

Revascularisation of the lunate in Kienböcks disease by a vascularised bone graft harvested from the volar aspect of the radius : results after a minimum of 5 years follow up.
Peter Reynders (Belgium) Factors affecting rates of infection and prolonged bone healing in 821 operative treated isolated tibial shaft fractures.
Mehdi Moghtadaei
(Islamic Republic of Iran)
Evaluating suppression of PGE2, PAF and Histamine Synthesis and histopathological changes of bones in the Membrane Surrounding Particulate Polymethylmethacrylate in the Rat Tibia.
Joost van Middendorp (Netherlands) Incidence and risk factors of complications associated with halo vest immobilization: a prospective, descriptive cohort study of 239 patients.
Yann Charles
Preoperative localisation of the Adamkiewicz arteria in spine surgery.
Stephanie Boehm (Switzerland) Early Results of the Ponseti Method forTreatment of Arthrogrypotic Clubfoot.
Rudi Bitsch
Tibial Cementing Technique for Unicompartmental Knee Arthroplasty.
Iain McNamara
(United Kingdom)
Airport detection of Orthopaedic implants following 9/11; a British perspective.
Wolfgang Mayer
F-18-fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG) positron emissiontomography (PET) in the diagnosis of septic andaseptic loosening: Hip versus kneeendoprostheses.

On the occasion of the EFORT Congresses, EFORT awarded the 10 best posters from the congress poster session presented at the congress. The 10 winners from the 9th EFORT Congress 2008 in Nice, France are:

Award Winner Abstract
Petteri Väänänen (Finland) Effect of Cyclic Loading on the Fixation Stability of a Biodegradable Ankle Plate.
Mohit Bhandari (Canada) A Creative Approach to Blinding of Outcomes:The Blinding Of Femoral Fixation (BOFF) Study.
Samppa Hrmainen (Finland) Effects of different rehabilitation settings on the clinical outcome following surgical treatment of hip fracture.
Jiri Gallo (Czech Republic) Single nucleotide polymorphisms in genes for cytokines IL-LA, IL-6 and TNFa are associated with osteolysis in total hip arthroplasty.
Boglarka Farkas (Hungary) Preliminary results with matrix associated autologous chondrocyte implantation(ACI); results with the porcine model.
Derek Park (United Kingdom) Autologous chondrocyte implantation and high tibial osteotomy in the treatment of osteochondral defects in the malaligned knee.
Ilkka Pentikäinen (Finland) Role of fixation and postoperative regimens in the outcome of chevron osteotomy.A Randomized controlled trial.
Giuseppe Milano (Italy) Comparison between different types of suture configuration in meniscal repair. A biomechanical study.
Jan Kocis (Czech Republic) Minimally invasive thoracoscopic transdiaphragmatic approach to thoracolumbar junction fractures.
S. Thomas (United Kingdom) Awareness of compartment syndrome in our Orthopaedic and Trauma Wards.

Back to top